Monday, May 15, 2006

Oranje to Germany

Last Sunday, Marco van Basten announced the 23 players he wants to take to Germany to win the 2006 World Cup.

Here's the complete list:

Goal: Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Henk Timmer (AZ)

Defense: Khalid Boulahrouz (Hamburger SV), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Barcelona), Tim de Cler (AZ), John Heitinga (Ajax), Kew Jaliens (AZ), Jan Kromkamp (Liverpool), Joris Mathijsen (AZ), André Ooijer (PSV)

Midfield: Mark van Bommel (Barcelona), Phillip Cocu (PSV), Denny Landzaat (AZ), Hedwiges Maduro (Ajax), Wesley Sneijder (Ajax), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburger SV).

Attack: Ryan Babel (Ajax), Dirk Kuyt (Feyenoord), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), Arjen Robben (Chelsea), Jan Vennegoor of Hesselink (PSV)

The most suprising name missing is Klaas-Jan Huntelaar. The topscorer from Ajax has been left at home because van Basten only wants to bring 3 central strikers with him. Van Nistelrooy and Kuijt are already guaranteed a place, so that leaves Huntelaar to fight it out with Vennegoor of Hesselink. In the end VoH won the battle. Even Ryan Babel's comment shows how much everyone is suprised by the ommission of Huntelaar. Babel: "I don't understand how he isn't in the squad while I am."

Edgar Davids is missing as well, but he was a bit out of form playing for Spurs. For the rest I think this is the best Dutch squad available.

Hup Holland Hup!


Post a Comment

<< Home